Thursday, June 12, 2014

Batman Chronology - Batman: Year One

There are numerous chronological order to reading Batman graphic novels listed all over the internet.  Unfortunately, there is no definite order.  Some things obviously come before or after other certain things, but it's somewhat tricky to pinpoint the placement of Batman's story from beginning to end.

Fortunately, it's pretty obvious Batman: Year One comes first.

Year One is a four part series written by Frank Miller.  According to the introduction in the trade paperback, DC wanted to reboot some of their major characters, but felt Batman's origins were still pretty relevant.  Frank Miller (famous for Sin City, 300, The Dark Knight Returns) volunteered to write a gritty retelling of Batman's origins.

Screenshot from the animated movie of the same name.

The story actually revolves around Commissioner Gordon more than Bruce Wayne.  This is not a problem though, the story is absolutely fantastic and seems very real.

This story also had a huge impact on "Batman Begins".  A few scenes are taken pretty much directly from the story.

Where It Belongs

There's not a ton of logic to this one, I mean "year one" is in the title.  It would say it's same to assume this book is the beginning of the Batman series in graphic novels.  Obviously there were years and years of comic books that were released before this, but this is the first one of my (and probably everyone else's) chronological order.

Sunday, June 8, 2014

Marvel Universe Wave 24 Black Knight

Full disclosure, I know virtually nothing about the Black Knight, that being said, I'm going to have a lot of fun with him.

Hobbit Series Gandalf

Marvel Universe Hercules

Marvel Universe Abomination

Hobbit Series Warg

Marvel Universe Hulk